How many females are there in your organization’s leadership team?

“We still have a problem and it’s a real problem. And the problem is this: Women are not making it to the top of any profession – anywhere in the world. The numbers tell the story quite clearly” – Sheryl Sandberg.

I’ve recognized that I am in a very male dominated world – really, it’s the story of my life. I have always been one of the very few females in the playground, nightclub, project team, boardroom, etc. The sex ratio as it relates to business leadership is very s-l-o-w-l-y evening but I figured that if I am going to have even the slightest problem with it, I better start contributing to speeding it up.

I have never been a fan of these “Women empowerment” initiatives. Likely, it’s because the ones of which I have been exposed to left me feeling frustrated and nauseous. I am not for investing time in to bashing males and talking about how we do not need them. I am however, for building the awareness of how under-represented women are in leadership roles and working towards educating people on organizational design that support what women contribute to an organization’s bottom line.

This lack of fulfillment and need resulted in starting something that was actually valuable and realistic for myself and a specific group of people to keep up with and contribute to – Mid-week PowerUp Sessions.

A handful of us meet every other Wednesday to discuss challenges and opportunities that we experience when managing our organizations. While these challenges and opportunities are those that exist for both males and females – the way that they are identified, extracted, analyzed and resolved can be very different. Learn more about what we’re up to right here: Mid-week PowerUp.

Helping to improve an issue does not have to be done in a grand way. Really think critically about who is in your leadership team – and even stretch it beyond males vs. females. Now, think about how you or your organization are working towards taking on opportunities to improve your bottom line – from a people and leadership standpoint.


If you haven’t seen the above talk by Sheryl Sandberg, make sure you give it a watch.